Clinical Studies

Along with medical progress comes the continual development of new and better therapies for allergic overreactions.

Allergies

More than a quarter of the population of industrial countries suffer from allergic diseases. One of the most common forms of allergies is seasonal allergic rhinoconjunctivitis, so-called hay fever.

An allergy is an exaggerated immune reaction to a substance that is in actual fact not “hazardous” for humans, for example pollen, food substances or animal hair. Typical signs of an allergy are sneezing attacks, an increased running nose, a blocked nose and teary eyes, excessive itching of the palate, swelling of the mucosa and coughing attacks.

Often pollen allergy sufferers develop so-called cross-reactions to specific types of food, such as stone fruits, pomaceous fruits or nuts, which may manifest as an itching sensation in the throat and the palate or cause mucosal swelling in the throat and larynx.

Seasonal and perennial allergies are serious diseases that should not be treated lightly. About 30% of patients with untreated allergic rhinitis develop allergic bronchial asthma. Early diagnosis of an allergic disease and treatment specially concerted to the patient’s needs, increase the likelihood of influencing the disease favourably and improve quality of life or even heal the person of the allergy.

Klinische Studien

Der medizinische Fortschritt bringt mit sich, dass laufend neue und bessere Therapien gegen die allergische Überreaktion entwickelt werden.

Allergien

Mehr als ein Viertel der Bevölkerung in den Industriestaaten leidet unter allergischen Erkrankungen. Eine der bekanntesten allergischen Reaktionen ist die saisonale allergische Rhinokonjunktivitis (SAR), der sogenannte Heuschnupfen.

Eine Allergie ist eine übertriebene Abwehrreaktion des menschlichen Immunsystems auf eigentlich ungefährliche Substanzen, wie beispielsweise Blütenpollen, Nahrungsmittel oder Tierhaare. Typische Merkmale für eine Allergie sind Niesattacken, vermehrtes Nasenrinnen, blockierte Nase, Augentränen, Juckreiz am Gaumen, Schleimhautschwellung sowie Hustenattacken.

Häufig kommt es bei PollenallergikerInnen zu Kreuzreaktionen mit Nahrungsmitteln wie etwa Steinobst, Kernobst oder Nüssen, welche sich durch Rachen- und Gaumenjucken sowie Schleimhautschwellung im Rachenraum äußern.

Die saisonalen und ganzjährigen Allergien stellen ernstzunehmende Erkrankungen dar, die bei ca. 30% der unbehandelten PatientInnen zur Entwicklung von allergischem Asthma bronchiale führen. Die frühzeitige Diagnostik einer allergischen Erkrankung und eine auf die PatientInnen abgestimmte Therapie erhöhen die Chancen, den Krankheitsverlauf günstig zu beeinflussen und die Lebensqualität zu steigern bzw. die Allergie zu heilen.